StreamHistory.com
Once A Marine
The Art of Battle
Game Squad
Mil. History Podcast
Russian Army - WW2
Achtung Panzer!
Mil History Online

Go Back   Armchair General and HistoryNet >> The Best Forums in History > Historical Events & Eras > World War II > Armor in World War II

Notices and Announcements

Armor in World War II Discuss all aspects & disciplines of World War II Armor here.

Old 18 Oct 16, 19:17
Gunnery Sergeant
United_States

HighlanderNorth is on the path to success [1-99] HighlanderNorth is on the path to success [1-99] HighlanderNorth is on the path to success [1-99]
Lightbulb Did tank drivers usually angle their hulls to the enemy to increase armor thickness?

I started playing World Of Tanks about 3 years ago, and although I haven't played in 15 months, I learned aspects of that game that should definitely carry over to real armored combat. The game is designed to be as realistic to real tank combat as possible when it comes to ballistics vs armor.

This seems like such an obvious concept, but prior to playing the game, I'd never considered it. When tank designers finally began designing angled tank armor, they were able to increase armor thickness, without increasing armor thickness...... Just by angling armor plate, you make it thicker when an armor piercing shell hits it straight on.

But during WW2, there were many tanks without angled armor. As I mentioned earlier, the WOT game mechanics are such that they effectively mimic ballistic reality, and angled armor is factored into the equation. For that reason, they recommend that a player should try to always angle the hull diagonally facing the enemy(with most tanks) to effectively increase the armor thickness and decrease odds of penetration with any AP, APCR, APCBC or even sabot rounds.